Ole Miss’ Brown, Little Earn Phil Steele All-America Honors

AJ Brown
Photo by Ole Miss Athletics.

Two Rebels were named to the Phil Steele All-America team, the organization announced on Tuesday.

Junior A.J. Brownearned second team honors at wide receiver, while offensive lineman Greg Littlealso hauled in second team accolades. 

A junior out of Starkville, Mississippi, Brown re-wrote the receiving record books in his three years at Ole Miss. He stands as the all-time leading receiver in Ole Miss history with 2,984 yards. He had 12 100-yard receiving performances during his career, also a program record.
Brown, who also earned second team All-America honors from the Football Writers Association of America last week, amassed 1,320 yards in 2018, breaking his own single-season school record of 1,252, set last season. He’s the only player in Ole Miss history with two 1,000-yard seasons to his name. Brown also set the Ole Miss single-season receptions record with 85 catches this year.
Despite playing alongside two other NFL Draft prospects at the receiver position, Brown leads the SEC and ranks sixth in the nation with 110.0 receiving yards per game. He’s also first in the SEC and is 10th in FBS with 7.1 receptions per game.

Little, a junior out of Allen, Texas, has anchored the Ole Miss offensive line, appearing in every game at left tackle for the last three seasons. Heralded as one of the top NFL Draft prospects for 2019, Little also garnered second team All-America from the Sporting News, Walter Camp Foundation and FWAA. He was also a first team All-SEC selection by the Associated Press and the league coaches. 

He is one of six finalists for the 2018 Earl Campbell Tyler Rose Award, becoming the first offensive lineman ever to be named a finalist for the Texas-specific award.

Little holds perhaps the most important position on one of the top offensive line units in the country. Ole Miss ranks ninth in the country in total offense and fifth in passing yards.

Brown and Little have both announced that they will forgo their senior season and will declare for the 2019 NFL Draft.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.