Chamber Makes Plans for 2017 Leadership Lafayette Program

Oxford-Lafayette Chamber of Commerce2016 Leadership Award Recipient – Pictured left to right, Rick Mize, Past Chamber Chairman; Amy Goodin, 2016 Leadership Award Recipient; Torie White, Leadership Lafayette Chair. (Photo by Oxford-Lafayette Chamber of Commerce)

Oxford, Miss.—Emerging community leaders of Oxford and Lafayette County once again have an opportunity to participate in the annual Leadership Lafayette program presented by the Oxford-Lafayette County Chamber of Commerce.

The nine-month program, beginning in January 2017, is a series of training sessions and activities, designed for emerging community leaders.  It is intended to assure the continuity of leadership in Lafayette-Oxford-University community and assist already established community leaders, who seek more effective ways to contribute to the community.  In addition to the sessions, class members will also participate in a community based project.

“Leadership Lafayette is a great opportunity for community leaders to engage in their community through networking, education and group projects. Each session is coordinated by alumni of the program who put considerable thought into making each year the best it can be,” said Torie White, Leadership Lafayette Program Chair.

The objectives of the program include identifying potential community leaders, developing individual leadership potential, acquiring knowledge about community and current issues in Lafayette County, creating dialogue and rapport among participants and current leaders, and promoting a sense of “community” through shared efforts benefiting the local community.

Each month will involve an all day session from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.  These sessions are packed with information about Oxford and Lafayette County and the needs of the community. Participants will acquire knowledge about current issues that surround them, as well as focused leadership training.

Leadership Lafayette participants will be selected by a steering committee on the basis of completed applications received by Monday, December 12, 2016.  Preference will be given to candidates who, in addition to their potential for leadership, would contribute to the overall diversity and strength of the class and have available time to commit to the program and future community service.  Program participation is limited to 25.  The program requires a tuition fee of $375 upon acceptance.

The 2017 Leadership Lafayette Steering Committee includes: Chair: Torie Marion White, University of Mississippi Alumni Association; Wayne Andrews, Yoknapatawpha Arts Council; Steven Ash, Oxford University Club; Quentin Brewer, BancorpSouth; Jennifer Eastland, Baptist Memorial Hospital; Ashley Frye, Executive Assistant to Dr. Thomas Fowlkes for Coleman Funeral Home; Amy Goodin, The University of Mississippi; Kelly Graeber, Oxford School District; Caitlin Hopper, Yoknapatawpha Arts Council; Hardie Meeks, Oxford Police Dept.; Kristi Peeples, Renasant Bank; Megan Prescott, Oxford Police Dept.; Jeremy Roberts, Coleman Funeral Home; Cassidy Shoemake, TeleSouth Communications; Ryan Upshaw, The University of Mississippi; Jessica Windham, Home Instead Senior Care.  All steering committee members are graduates of the Leadership Lafayette program.

Individuals interested in the program are encouraged go to the Chamber’s website and view the application at or call Pam Swain at the Chamber at 662-234-4651.

Be the first to comment on "Chamber Makes Plans for 2017 Leadership Lafayette Program"

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.